Collection

COLLECTION

The Victor Hugo’s Literary House’s Collection now includes more than 4,500 items: books, engravings, photographs, letters, manuscripts, shavings.
Shavings are drafts that Victor Hugo wrote instantly when an idea or intuition came to his mind. He immediately jotted them down on anything within reach of his hand: an envelope, the flyleaf of a book, the back of a telegram, etc..

Printing proof of Les Misérables

The Literary House of Victor Hugo owns the « printing proof » of Les Misérables, entirely corrected by hand by Victor Hugo, that is to say the unique copy in the world comprising the last modifications before the « original edition » of this masterpiece. We also have the « printing proof » of Les Contemplations, which includes the manuscript of the preface as well as numerous corrections by the hand of Victor Hugo and Noël Parfait, who was in charge of the Brussels edition. This work marks Victor Hugo’s return to literature and pure poetry since the death of his daughter in 1843.

Printing proof of Les Contemplations

The texts were worked on many times until the final version, which is called the « manuscript ». The latter was copied clean, proofread and corrected by Victor Hugo, and it was this copy that was sent to the publisher. Hugo received in return a « printing proof ». He checked everything again, tue punctuation, the layout, the character of the titles, but sometimes he also reworked the text, giving it a new dimension. These corrections, copied, were sent back to the publisher who could then print the first so-called « original » edition.

Printing proof of La Légende des siècles

Judging from their historical, cultural and literary importance, five pieces  belonging to our collection, have come to be classified as « National Treasures » by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication, along with three other documents belonging to our collection: « the printing proof » of La Légende des siècles, corrected by Victor Hugo, which he had offered to Juliette Drouet with a moving dedication illuminating in an exceptional way, the courageous action of Juliette during their flight to Belgium; the draft handwritten decree of Victor Hugo for the general amnesty of the communards, in order to create the conditions for national reconciliation; finally the last sentence written by Victor Hugo’s hand three days before his death: « To love is to act » signed « Victor Hugo ».

Draft decree of Victor Hugo for the general amnesty of the communards

As well as a testimony for universal literary history, the classification of these five major pieces is a recognition of the remarkable quality of the collection of the museum and of the work of protection and preservation of our cultural heritage, a work which has been done so far by Mr. Ikeda and the Literary House of Victor Hugo.

« I hope that this house will make it possible to further strengthen the links between different cultures, and I would be happy if it allowed the immortal soul of the great poet to lead men towards universality. »

Philippe Moine
Director of the Literary House of Victor Hugo

Last sentence written by Victor Hugo

Collection

COLLECTION

La collection de la Maison Littéraire de Victor Hugo comporte aujourd’hui plus de 4500 pièces : livres, gravures, photographies, lettres, manuscrits, copeaux.
Les copeaux sont des brouillons que Victor Hugo écrivait instantanément lorsqu’une idée ou une intuition lui venait à l’esprit. Il les notait immédiatement sur tout ce qui était à la portée de sa main : une enveloppe, la page de garde d’un livre, le dos d’un télégramme, etc.

Épreuves corrigées des Misérables

La Maison Littéraire possède « l’épreuve d’imprimerie »  des Misérables, entièrement corrigée à la main par Victor Hugo, c’est à dire l’exemplaire unique au monde comportant les dernières modifications avant « l’édition originale » de ce chef d’œuvre. Nous avons également « l’épreuve d’imprimerie » des Contemplations, qui comporte le manuscrit de la préface ainsi que de très nombreuses corrections de la main de Victor Hugo et de Noël Parfait, qui avait la charge de l’édition de Bruxelles. Cette œuvre marque le retour de Victor Hugo à la littérature et à la poésie pure depuis la mort de sa fille en 1843.

Épreuves corrigées des Contemplations

Les textes étaient travaillés de nombreuses fois jusqu’à la version définitive, qu’on appelle le « manuscrit ». Ce dernier était recopié au propre, relu et corrigé par Victor Hugo, et c’est cette copie qui était envoyée à l’éditeur. Hugo recevait en retour une « épreuve d’imprimerie ». Il vérifiait de nouveau tout, la ponctuation, la mise en page, le caractère des titres, mais parfois aussi il retravaillait le texte en lui donnant une nouvelle dimension. Ces corrections, recopiées, étaient renvoyées à l’éditeur qui pouvait alors imprimer la première édition dite « originale ».

Épreuves corrigées de La Légende des siècles

Compte tenu de leur importance historique, culturelle et littéraire, ces pièces ont été classées « Trésors Nationaux » au titre des monuments historiques par le ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, ainsi que trois autres documents appartenant à notre collection : « l’épreuve d’imprimerie » de La Légende des siècles, corrigée par Victor Hugo, qu’il avait offerte à Juliette Drouet avec une dédicace bouleversante éclairant d’une manière exceptionnelle, l’action courageuse de Juliette lors de leur fuite en Belgique ; le projet de décret manuscrit de Victor Hugo pour l’amnistie générale des communards, afin de créer les conditions de la réconciliation nationale ; enfin la dernière phrase écrite de la main de Victor Hugo trois jours avant sa mort : «  Aimer, c’est agir » signé « Victor Hugo » .

Projet de décret pour l’amnistie des communards

Le classement, en tant que « Trésors Nationaux » de ces cinq pièces capitales pour l’histoire littéraire universelle, est une reconnaissance de la qualité remarquable de la collection de notre musée ainsi que du travail de protection et de conservation du patrimoine culturel réalisé par la Maison Littéraire et voulu par son fondateur Monsieur Daisaku Ikeda qui disait lors de l’inauguration :

« Je souhaite que cette maison permette de renforcer encore davantage les liens entre les différentes cultures, et je serais heureux si elle permettait à l’âme immortelle du grand poète de conduire les hommes vers l’universalité. »

Philippe Moine
Directeur de la Maison Littéraire de Victor Hugo

Dernier autographe